Educator of the Year Application

Finalists will be selected from each of the 8 regions of the state and one person from this group will be designated as Educator of the Year. The finalists and the winner will be recognized at the GMSA Annual Conference February 26-28, 2017 in Valdosta, Georgia. 


  • must have been a teacher for a minimum of three years
  • exemplifies educational excellence
  • has made significant contributions to the middle level program in his/her school and/or system
  • has exhibited effectiveness as a middle level educator
  • has assumed positions of leadership at the school or system level
  • has developed and/or participated in innovative practices/projects related to the middle level
  • exhibits outstanding communication skills with students, staff, leadership, parents, and the community at large 

Who Can Nominate

Anyone who is a member of GMSA in good standing may nominate an educator in their region. 

Who is Eligible 

Any full-time Georgia middle level educator with at least 3 years experience. 

Application Requirements 

Complete Nomination Application

Provide one page narrative describing the strengths of the educator and how they fit the qualifications for this award.

Provide two letters of recommendation. 

Application Deadline 

November 15, 2016

The winner will be notified December 7, 2016. 

Educator of the Year Application

We are no longer taking applications at this time.